Allman Brothers to Release Special Eight-Disc Set

April 9, 2017

Out now digitally, an eight-CD package of the Allman Brothers Band’s sold-out, three-night run of performances at Atlanta’s Fox Theatre in September 2004 will be released physically on April 28th. The recordings were previously sold on tour and through the band’s mail order service, but this edition features a remastered audio mix.

 Touring for their final studio album, Hittin’ the Note, the band’s lineup at the time included founding members Gregg Allman, Butch Trucks and Jaimoe, plus guitarists Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks, bassist Oteil Burbridge and percussionist Marc Quinones. Guests joining the group during the three-night stand included guitarist Jack Pearson (a member from 1997 to ’99), Derek’s wife Susan Tedeschi,Butch’s son Vaylor Trucks and keyboardist Rob Baracco.

 A generous assortment of cover songs not necessarily associated with the Allmans are scattered throughout The Fox Box, including “Layla” and “Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad” (Derek and the Dominoes), “Franklin’s Tower” (The Grateful Dead), “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” (Bob Dylan) and “I Walk on Gilded Splinters” (Dr. John). The only song repeated over the eight disc set is the Allman Brothers original “Dreams,” but each of the three performances spotlights a different lead guitarist.




Please reload

Recent Posts

July 31, 2019

July 9, 2019

Please reload


Please reload


Please reload